Lent 2015

I noticed a friend was doing 40 bags in 40 days. HP also decided to do his own Lent thing. It got me to thinking about what I should ‘give up’ for Lent. I thought Facebook, but wasn’t so sure that was ‘the thing’ for me.

Mine ended up being – give up wasted time on technology. I.E. No more mindless surfing the web because I don’t know what else to do with my free five minutes…

But, I also liked the idea of 40 bags in 40 days.

So – I started with BP’s toys. She is a pack rat. I have no idea how many pieces of junk mail I found in her toy room in this process… I ended up with 5 give away bags and 1 throw away bag.

I then moved on to: The kitchen. I started with the spice cabinet. I threw out spices that had expired months (years ago), and wrote down to repurchase only the ones I actually use now.
I cleaned the fridge, freezer, and pantry. Really not much to clean out there seeing as I do keep a ‘tight ship’ in those areas.
I ditched some mugs we never.ever.use. Some other things (pizza cutter that had never even been opened??).

Today I realized I finally had enough bananas to make banana bread. I set out to make it and laughed when the recipe called for NUTMEG. Yep, you guessed it. I had tossed it due to it’s (extremely old) age. Eh, I made the banana bread anyway… Here’s to hoping it comes out well. 😉

About hpwpbp

Wife Person to a wonderful Husband Person. Mother Person to a wonderful Baby Person.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Family, Recipes, Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.