The Greatest Luxury

A while ago I asked what the greatest luxury would be.  I received a myriad of answers:

  1. Peace and quiet
  2. Sleep for the weary
  3. Antibiotics
  4. Sleep
  5. Gold
  6. Indoor plumbing
  7. Clean Water
  8. Time
  9. Toilet paper
  10. Water
  11. Life

I’ve taken so long to write this post because I am having a hard time with it.  You see, I always thought the greatest luxury was choice.  It’s the thing I miss most when I don’t have it.  Just watch any 2 year old and you would think that choice was the most important thing in the world.

But it’s not.

To have my will be done is the greatest luxury there is.  Here it is: what good is choice if I don’t like my options?  Here – you can have chocolate ice cream or vanilla ice cream… I want peppermint stick ice cream.  The choice meant nothing, because I didn’t want what was offered.

The greatest luxury is to have my will be done.  If I want clean water – I get it.  if I want peace and quiet I get it.  If I want peppermint stick ice cream – I get it.

But in this world we don’t always have the option of having our will done.  Because we aren’t God.  We live in a world with other people who have other wills and those wills don’t usually match up with my will.  Therefore, we compromise.  Sometimes I get what I want, and sometimes I don’t.  Sometimes no one does.

When I get frustrated I try to look to God.  (I don’t always, but I do try).  And what often comes to mind is:

He went away again the second time, and prayed, saying, O my Father, if this cup may not pass away from me, except I drink it, thy will be done.  Matthew 26:42 (KJV)

Thy will be done.  That is such a hard thing to say.  That is a hard thing to submit to: another person’s will being done instead of my own.  Even harder at times is submitting to God’s will, but that is what Jesus did.  And that is what I need to choose to do.

The greatest luxury is: My will to be done.  The greatest form of submission is: Thy will be done.  Lord, let us desire to submit to you and let your will be done in all things.

About hpwpbp

Wife Person to a wonderful Husband Person. Mother Person to a wonderful Baby Person.
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.