When Does a Child Become a Person?

I’ve noticed different parenting styles where the child seems more of a nuisance than a blessing.  We are not perfect in our parenting… Not by any means, but we recognize that BP is a person.  A person with feelings, opinions, thoughts, and desires.

BP shouldn’t be told ‘go play, so we can talk’.  Yes, she needs to play – how else will she develop?  Or learn? Or grow?  BUT not because I think she is in the way.  BP is a person.  I need to treat her with the same respect that I want to be treated with.

I need to include her when I can – which is almost all of the time.  I need to respond to her needs.  Hold her when she cries – even if I have no idea why she is crying.

To the parents who tell their child to go play, or let their child cry alone in a room, I ask: When does your child become a person?  I’m not asking adult – I’m asking a person.  A person who needs to have their needs/desires met and you deem worthy of responding to.

For me: my child became a person the moment she was conceived.  I may fail as a parent at times, but BP is a person regardless of my shortcomings.

About hpwpbp

Wife Person to a wonderful Husband Person. Mother Person to a wonderful Baby Person.
This entry was posted in Baby Person, Christianity, Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.