The Shadow or the Substance

Colossians 2:17 – – Which are a shadow of things to come; but the body is of Christ.

We had a discussion on Saturday about setting your sight on the Substance and not on the shadow.

One of the comments that was made bothered me and has been swirling in my head since I heard it.  The comment:

The shadow accurately represents the substance.  So keep your eyes on the shadow and you will be following the Substance.

I’m going to have to disagree.  BP and I go walking often.  I always smile when I see our shadows.  She is becoming a mini me.  But the thing about our shadows is this: I am not as tall and skinny as my shadow looks (or short and fat).  Sometimes BP is walking beside me and then falls back behind me.  Based on the shadows I often have to look over both my shoulders to find where she actually is.  (Usually she is right, and I mean right, behind me.)

My point is this: the shadows DO NOT represent me, BP, or where we are, accurately.  In fact if I kept my eyes on the shadows instead of on BP it could be very dangerous for her.  She could get hurt or lost.

BUT if I keep my eyes on BP I have a better chance of keeping her safe.  Of keeping her in my sight so I can see what she is doing.  Which influences what I should do.

Just as I need to keep my eyes on BP, we need to keep our eyes on the Substance (Christ).  If we watch His shadow we will be mislead.  We will miss who He actually is.  We need to keep our eyes on Him and look to Him for our ‘cues’ on what we should be doing.

Don’t get lost in follow the shadows.  Keep your eyes focused on the true One that we should be following.

About hpwpbp

Wife Person to a wonderful Husband Person. Mother Person to a wonderful Baby Person.
This entry was posted in Baby Person, Blogging, Christianity, Exercise, Family, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.