The Match

Yesterday I tried to light a match.  I struck it against the box over and over again, but it would not light.  I was about to give up, but I said to myself: just try it a couple more times. One time was all that it took.

As I was using the match for what I needed, some verses came to mind:

Philippians 3:13-15

        Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you.
        King James Version
        I was so quick to want to quit in something that doesn’t even matter.  How quick am I to give up in living the Christian life?  How quick am I to stop reaching for the only ‘thing’ that does matter?
        I encourage you (and myself) to keep trying, keep pressing on, keep reaching forth; because you never know how close you are to the Prize.
    About hpwpbp

    Wife Person to a wonderful Husband Person. Mother Person to a wonderful Baby Person.
    This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.