Crackle Boom

It’s been thunderstorm season here the last few days.  Don’t I love a good storm!?  I’d be a storm chaser if I was just a wee bit braver.  Not that we ever get the type of storm that you can chase.

BP has a little story book: Jonah and the Whale.  In the book there is a page where it says: ‘So God sent a storm’.  Every time I read it to BP I add Crackle Boom, Crackle, Crackle Boom.  She giggles (almost every time).

God does use storms in so many different ways: to get our attention, to change our path, to teach us lessons, etc…

But do we listen?  In the story of Jonah the storm did get his attention (and the sailors attention).  Interesting that the storm was all it took for the sailors to turn to God, but Jonah needed time alone in the belly of a great fish (gross) to return to God.

How quick are we to turn back to God?  Are the ungodly faster to turn and repent from all of their sin than we are to turn and repent from just one sin?  What does God have to do to bring you closer to Himself?

For me: I wish it was just a storm.  No, no, I wish I never even needed the storm, but that I would just stay where I needed to be all of the time.  But, sad to admit, sometimes (most times) I need to be in the belly of a great fish.  Sometimes for 3 hours, sometimes for 3  days, and sometimes it feels like 3 years.  Why, oh why am I so stubborn?

For this storm – the physical one in front of me, I am going to simply watch and enjoy it.  Hopefully for the next spiritual storm, I will run straight back to God and hold tight to Him for forever.  Amen.

Lord my God! When I in awesome wonder
Consider all the works thy hand hath made,
I see the stars, I hear the mighty thunder,
Thy power throughout the universe displayed;

Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, how great Thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, how great Thou art!

How Great Thou Art By Carl Boberg

About hpwpbp

Wife Person to a wonderful Husband Person. Mother Person to a wonderful Baby Person.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.