Come, worship

In my daily reading (which I am almost up-to-date on 🙂 ) I came across this set of verses.

And there were certain men who were unclean through touching a dead body, so that they could not keep the Passover on that day, and they came before Moses and Aaron on that day. And those men said to him, “We are unclean through touching a dead body. Why are we kept from bringing the Lord’s offering at its appointed time among the people of Israel?” Numbers 9:6-7

It made me think.  Now, I am not going to jump in and get all theological on you.  I just want to mention what struck me.  Then dwell on it for a bit, then see how I can change in my life to become just a wee bit better… maybe a little more like Christ.

And my thought was: here are some men who knew the rules and knew they had to follow them, but didn’t want to miss out on an opportunity to worship the Lord.  How often do we react that way?  Or does our thought trend more like this: it’s snowing today – I hope they cancel church? Not these men.  They went to the man God placed in charge and said – hey, we know we aren’t clean, but we want to worship God anyway.

And the beauty of it all–> God said: yes. Yes, come worship me.  I know you are unclean – each and every one of you are in one way or another.  Please come worship me anyway.  I will make you clean. (verses 9-14)

 

About hpwpbp

Wife Person to a wonderful Husband Person. Mother Person to a wonderful Baby Person.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Family, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.