Rebound…

It’s been a month since we switched our phone service from @!! to AirVoice Wireless and Google Voice.

Here is what I (we) have discovered…

Google Voice

Pros: Free
Easy to use
You have a text and phone record in your email
Texting is easy – and can be done from multiple places (Phone/computer…)
APPs are available to text/talk on your smartphone (don’t have to use the computer)
Can send a text to up to 5 people at a time

Cons: The connection can be slow
Sometimes there is an echo
If you are using an APP – it doesn’t always like to recognize my keypunch (for automated systems)
You need to have internet access to use it (not really possible for use in your car (as a passenger, of course))

AirVoice Wireless

Pros: Great service area
Easy set up
Inexpensive
No contract
Good call quality
Can be used with any unlocked GSM phone
$ rolls over every month*****
Can ‘refill’ $ at any time

Cons: Can’t send a text to more than 1 person at a time
Can’t send a picture text
I called customer service on both of these issues (it took a long time for them to answer – I used Google Voice to call them so I wouldn’t use up my $ on AirVoice 😉 ). They claim my phone is not unlocked and therefore I cannot do either of these things. Annoying, but I can figure my way around it. BUT, I purchased my phone directly from Apple (unlocked) so this shouldn’t be the issue. Trust me, I am going to still try to figure it out, but it’s not that big of a deal to me.

*****We have only used AirVoice for one month, but I had money left over. So while my 30 days expired, the money I had left did not. For all of those still stuck in contract thinking – it’s kind of like rollover minutes. 🙂 But not really.

All in all, we are happy with AirVoice Wireless: I’d give it an 8 out of 10 stars. HP was not happy with Google Voice, I am. I’d give them 6 out of 10 stars (so low only because I can not use them everywhere and the call quality can be poor). We are thankful for the money we saved.

*Too bad our taxes just went up, and now the money we saved is going back out the door – just to a different location. 😦

About hpwpbp

Wife Person to a wonderful Husband Person. Mother Person to a wonderful Baby Person.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Business ideas, Exercise, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.