Control or Choice?

HP asked me the other night why if God is in control He lets people in other countries starve while we in America are fighting obesity?

The best I could come up with (on the spot) was: God is in control, and He gives us the ability to choose.  The government (and people) in other countries are choosing to let others starve.  Americans are choosing to be obese.

I followed up with: God is in control and by being in control He gives us the ability to choose. Everybody wants a choice and they want God to be in control and ‘take all of the bad things away’.  We can’t have it both ways.

Anyone have a better answer?  Or a thought on mine?

About hpwpbp

Wife Person to a wonderful Husband Person. Mother Person to a wonderful Baby Person.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Control or Choice?

  1. carlaannfehr says:

    I think that you’re absolutely right. God’s not a dictator who forces your absolute allegiance. He wants you to choose him on your own and to understand that, if you don’t, you are responsible for the consequences, even if those consequences affect other people in the process. People who choose gluttony and become obese are, in my opinion, sinful, because they made food their subject of worship instead of directing it towards Him. Likewise, the corrupt rulers in these countries where people are starving made the free choice to turn their eyes away from the Lord and engage in worldly things, and as a result, the people that they govern suffer. That’s entirely man’s doing, not God’s. I don’t think God is subject to arbitrary whims and just decided one day that the children in Darfur deserved to be punished because they’re (mostly) not Christian, like I’ve heard some people suggest. He has shown throughout history that he’ll even punish his own people when they get out of line. I think God gave man the good sense to know right from wrong and to be accountable for our actions, and when we choose to ignore that, we and everyone around us suffer in the process.

    • hpwpbp says:

      I keep thinking about your comment and saying to myself that I should reply back. It’s taken me this long to reply because your comment is so complete I’m not sure what to say in response. 🙂 I am thankful God did give us the good sense to know right from wrong, now if we would just have the good sense to use that good sense!

      • carlaannfehr says:

        I have spent a lot of time in that “why me, God? are You even listening?” point of my life, especially when it came to my divorce and the back and forth struggle with child custody that we’ve been having for almost 6 years. I think there came a point when the voice in my head, be it God or reason or whatever, said, “it’s not all about you, Carla”. I had to accept that not only did my life, however insignificant, affect others, but that their lives and their choices change me too, and that the best response (for me) is to have that emotional moment, get it out of the way, and then try to find a lesson in all of it. … Of course, it’s easy to say that when you’re not in the midst of an actual famine or war or epidemic, but then the people who are enduring that level of suffering are usually the ones who are actively reaching out for the Lord (well, their Lord, I should say) to help them, so it’s interesting to note that there seems to come a point where things get so bad that you have no other choice but to believe in God’s grace and mercy. It’s a lot to wrap your mind around.

Comments are closed.