The day I met…

Today ends Blizzard Nemo (2013).  It was really great to watch the storm from inside, where it was nice and warm.  As I was sitting on the futon, I (not so fondly) remembered the days in which I had to commute to work.  Ah, I am so glad that is over with.

One particular snow storm story is as follows:

I worked in W, MA about 30 minutes south of where I lived.  It was in December and we were expecting a storm – a big storm.  I went to work, as usual.  Around 2 o’clock everyone was allowed to leave early, in order to get home before the big storm hit.  I figured I would stick it out because I had plans that night.

I stayed at work till about 5 and then decided to leave.  My destination that night was about an hour north of where I worked.  Considering I was going to pass where I lived I thought I would stop at home, grab a bite, and head on out to arrive on time for the party at 7.

After driving for an hour I decided to get off the highway at my exit, but just keep going to the location considering it was 30 minutes away on a good day.

But then I was detoured.  And I have no idea where I was, and no idea how to get back to where I needed to be.  And it was snowing – still.  So I drove, and drove, and drove.  Finally I recognized the area (but still had no idea how to get to where I needed to be).  I was late, but I figured I should show up anyway, if I could ever figure out how to get there.

I called a friend who lived in the area that I was lost in – – > they were no help.

Finally I reached a road I knew and I decided after 2 1/2 hours on the road – I just wanted to go home.  So I headed south.

And was detoured again.

This detour I knew where I was going… I traveled the windy snow-covered roads at a very slow pace.  At one point I was going down a hill.  At the same time I spied a plow truck plowing a driveway.  He was backing up the hilled driveway. I kept going – keeping my eyeball on him.  Just as I was passing the driveway, he slid down the hill right into – Pearl!  My Saturn.  Aw, poor thing!

The driver was horrified!  He jumped out of the truck and rushed over to me.  I climbed out of my car, walked over to the side that was hit and just looked at it.  There was barely a dent in the side with no other damage.  I looked at the man.  He looked at me.

Then I heard these words come out of my mouth: ‘I just want to go home’.  He looked at me. And I repeated: ‘I just want to go home’.   He asked me if I was hurt and all I could say, after being in the car for over 3 hours in a snowstorm, ‘I just want to go home’.

He shook his head at me and walked away.  Not even to his truck.  He walked out of the driveway he was plowing and down the street.  I could see he was shaken and all I could say was: ‘I just want to go home’.

I finally arrived home at 9 PM – just 4 short (long?) hours after I left work.

I grabbed something to eat, sat down on my bed and cried.

And that was the day I met: A plow truck.

About hpwpbp

Wife Person to a wonderful Husband Person. Mother Person to a wonderful Baby Person.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Exercise, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.