You’ve Got To Pick a Verse or Two…

Have you ever tried to memorize Scripture?  I have.  I had to as a kid, and I never really liked it.  I wasn’t good at it – esp the references. My favorite story about memorizing verses is when I was a leader for TAWAKAT (sort of like Awana).

One of my responsibilities was to listen to the children repeat their verses.  One child was reciting 2 Timothy 2:22 ‘Flee also youthful lusts: but follow righteousness, faith, charity, peace, with them that call on the Lord with a pure heart’.  What the child said was:  2 Timothy 2:22 ‘Flee also useful lusts: but follow righteousness, faith, charity, peace, with them that call on the Lord with a pure heart’.  I couldn’t help but laugh.  I’m not sure lusts can be useful.

I am thinking of trying to start memorizing Scripture again (hopefully with the right words in there).  I haven’t picked a passage yet.  I’m actually thinking more of picking a subject.  Maybe a subject that will help me with certain areas of my life that I struggle with.

I’m also hoping to find someone to memorize with me.  Maybe my HP and my cousin, PEH, can be roped into it. 😉 Maybe not. 😀

Let’s see if I can pick something that would be helpful….

Meanwhile I saw this video that is motivating me even more to try to memorize Scripture. I actually saw the video here though. (Scroll down a little to get to the video – or read from the top and enjoy)Now for the verses: I think I have picked verses on What To Do When You Feel Dissatisfie

Psalm 34:10
Psalm 37:3
Psalm 63:1-5
Psalm 103:1-5
Psalm 107:9
Proverbs 12:14
Isaiah 12:2, 3
Isaiah 44:3
Isaiah 55:1
Jeremiah 31:14b
Joel 2:26
Matthew 5:6
II Corinthians 9:8
Philippians 4:12, 13

14 passages = 1 a month plus 2 bonus ones.  I hope this goes well. 🙂

About hpwpbp

Wife Person to a wonderful Husband Person. Mother Person to a wonderful Baby Person.
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.